2022 in Review: Doing Tech the Community way - Dev Retro 2022

2022 in Review: Doing Tech the Community way - Dev Retro 2022

Tech community as a means for growth

2022 was a terrific year for me because it signaled the start of my development toward the field in which I want to pursue a career. When I first got interested in tech back in 2020, I picked an interest in web development and began browsing, researching how the many websites I visited were built. Immediately I knew that I wanted to be able to create one of those someday. I started learning the basics, started going to tech events, and before long, I was volunteering.

While learning, I came across lots of articles, and they helped me a great deal. After a while, I figured I could help someone by sharing my knowledge through technical articles. I gave it a try and realized that in addition to writing code, I also enjoyed teaching others and offering assistance wherever possible.

I was inspired by Edidiong Asikpo's presentation on Developer Advocacy and how to start in the DevRel field at one of the many tech events I have attended. I was thrilled to learn that I could combine my interests in coding and technical writing and build a career. I immediately began making conscious progress in that direction.

I Became a Community Manager at Google Developer Group (GDG) Aba

I became a team member at GDG Aba shortly after I joined the community, and this was because of how active I was. I was always trying to learn more about the community and how I could help.

Mr. Trust Onyekwere saw some potential in me and gave me this opportunity. In this role, I am responsible for moderating, crafting content, hosting and organizing events, and contributing to the progress of the community in general.

This has been a wonderful experience, and I plan to do more this year. I have grown in my writing skills and am a better leader now. I was made the content team lead, where I led a team of 5, and I handled the social media handles; this has been a privilege.

GDG Aba has been an avenue for growth in my journey, and I am so grateful to the community.

I Became the Google Developers Student Club (GDSC) Lead of My Campus

When the 2022 GDSC Lead application started, I had no idea I would be a leader this year. This win happened because of my wonderful friends; like I always say, I have the best friends.

My friends talked me into starting the application process, despite me feeling I won't be qualified for the position. After I submitted the application form, I forgot about it.

I was surprised when I got the mail to schedule a one-on-one interview. I got this mixed feeling of excitement and anxiety. How will this interview go? Can I answer the questions that will be asked? What if I don't pass? Those were my thoughts while scheduling and preparing for this interview.

The day finally came, and we had it. It was a very smooth process, and I answered all the questions. Not long after that, I got an email that I had been selected.

Now I can help students in my school who are interested in tech. I host events in specific areas of interest, and this is possible because I have people who believe in me.

This was when I announced that I had been selected as the lead for my campus.

NOTE: Surround yourself with positive thinkers who believe in your abilities.

I Hosted My First Event

As a GDSC lead, I am responsible for finding students on my campus interested in tech and giving them an opportunity to grow and learn. I do this by hosting tech events.

I organized my first event, and I am most grateful for the boldness that this experience has given me.

I Became an Event Manager for Open Source Community Africa (OSCA) Uyo Chapter

Open Source is an area I have wanted to get into for a while now. This year, I was given the opportunity to participate in handling and organizing events in Open Source Community Africa, Uyo Chapter. It was an exciting experience, and I am grateful for the lessons I've learned so far.

I Got Certified as a Full-Stack Developer

I have been learning web development for over 2 years, and now I have a certificate attached to my name.

I benefited from the 2022 fellowship held at Innovation Growth Hub (IGHub), sponsored by the Foundation for Partnership and Initiatives in the Niger Delta (PIND). It is a 9-month-long web development program, 6 months of intense learning, and 3 months of internship.

The months spent at IGHub strengthened my technical skills. Aside from full-stack development, I also picked other technical skills such as WordPress and Digital Marketing.

I Was Selected as a Core Team Member for Women Tech Makers, Aba

The Women Tech Makers community has been inactive for the last 2 years, and just recently, a new lead was picked. She contacted me to be the community's content lead, and I accepted the offer.

My role as a content lead is doing wonders for my creative writing skills.

I Started Public Speaking

In December, the Nigeria Association of Computing Students (NACOS) Southeast held an AMA session. The host reached out to me to ask if I would be available to facilitate a section on technical writing. I accepted the offer, and it was an educative session. Everyone present was impressed by my presentation.

Other Experiences of 2022

Aside from the beautiful experience in 2022, I had my fair share of not-so-great experiences:

  • I got some rejection mail. I applied to some positions and got the "unfortunately, we are not able to continue with you going forward" as usual. I accepted it in good fate.

  • I deleted my Hashnode blog while attempting to make changes to the blog to fit my personality. This was a sad moment for me, and I had to start over again.

Summary

If I am asked to rate my year on a scale of 0 to 10, I will give myself an 11. Yea, you heard that right. I was intentional about the steps I took, and I am glad to say that I am close to achieving my goals.

This year I will be focused on making the best out of the position I have and creating the best possible impact by writing more articles on my blog, being more visible, and putting myself forward.

If you have any speaking opportunities, writing collaboration, and suggestions on how I can be better qualified to be a developer advocate, please share them with me.

I'd also love to hear what you think about the things I accomplished in 2022 and the areas I should improve upon in 2023? Let me know in the comment section below.